Maternity Leave

22 May

Last Friday (the 18th) was my last day of work for the next 4 1/2 months. Maternity Leave came just in time.

I feel like I could have worked longer if trading in my desk chair for a recliner was an option. Sitting professionally¬†at this point just isn’t possible. Plus, I only have energy in spurts. There were a few days last week that I wasn’t sure I would be able to finish.

Now that I’ve had two full days off, I still don’t feel rested. Good sleep is also not possible at this point. However, I have been able to strike a good balance between getting things done and letting my body rest. I’ll do a couple of chores and then rest for a couple of hours, then chores, then rest… being able to lay down throughout the day really makes things easier.

One of the first things I did was go through Baby G’s clothes. They are all put away!! It only took over 100 hangers (no joke) and a dresser filled to the brim, but I did it!

I’ve also made several lists: what’s left to do, what’s left to buy, what to pack in my hospital bag, addresses for baby announcements… I love lists.

At the top of the to-do list is finish the nursery. We’re definitely getting close. Then there’s coming up with June’s menu plan, washing her clothes, washing her diapers…

She’ll be here before we know it.

Leave a Reply

