It’s Getting Close!

27 Mar

I can’t believe we’re already 30 weeks into the pregnancy. It has gone by SO fast!! Only 9 more weekends until Baby G is in our arms.

I’ve had two doctor’s appointments since  my last update. Both were pretty uneventful, which is a good thing at this stage. We go in next Monday for our last ultrasound. I’m very excited to see the Little Miss again. Jordan will get to go in with us for this one – I think I’m more excited about this fact than he is.

While there has been some discomfort, I can’t complain too much – I’ve been able to keep up with my day-to-day activities for the most part. I had my first Braxton Hicks contraction during week 26. It was earlier than they normally start and pretty intense. However, since there’s only been the one, the doctor is not too concerned.

Baby G spent about a week chillin on my sciatic nerve. That I can complain about. That was miserable. There were moments of pretty excruciating pain, especially if I spent too much time walking around. Plus, my leg would have random, peg-legged pirate type spasms. She’s moved, thank goodness.

We also took an overnight “babymoon” to Carmel. Scott and I both needed the opportunity to relax and had a great time. I was rocking the sparkling cider.

Did I mention that there is only 9 more weekends left until Baby G gets here?? That really isn’t much time at all. Each weekend is scheduled full of activities and projects. Hopefully, I’ll be updating more often because, well, there will be more to update on. Here are a few things we’ve got on the burner:

Registry Post – I spent a ridiculous amount of time researching for our registry. I’ve started a post explaining the whole process and why we’ve picked the things we did. The post is taking almost as long to finish as the research…

Nursery – Scott applied some primer to the wall this past weekend and will be painting this coming weekend. We’ve kept a lot of the nursery details a secret. It’s kind of been “our” project but once we’re done, we’ll have lots of pictures to share. There is no theme, just a color scheme. Everything is custom and awesome. I’m anxious to show it off. As a little teaser, here is her crib from Muu. Adorbs, right?

Photo from muukids.com

Soundproofing the Master Closet – Since Scott no longer has his man cave, I’ve volunteered to give up our closet. I know… I’m awesome. This will give him some place to play his guitar after the baby is born without having to worry about waking her up. We’ll start this after Easter.

Big Brother Survival Kit – I’m putting together a special package to help Jordan transition from only child to big brother. A few of the items we’ve decided on are his own special burp rags and possibly some ear plugs. 🙂

Meal Planning – We use a meal plan each month to help keep us on budget. I’m thinking June’s plan maybe a little different than most months though. I’ve started researching freeze-ahead meals and am hoping to do lots of things in the crock pot.

The Last Weekend – Our last weekend as a family of three will be special. We’re hoping to plan a fun family day, although I’m sure I won’t feel like being overly active. Then, grandparents willing, we’ll have a nice day as a couple on Sunday. Monday happens to be my birthday and I think that makes it the perfect opportunity to have a “mom day”. Again, I doubt I’ll feel up to a shopping spree but maybe a mani/pedi, a hot bath, and a good book…

4 Responses to “It’s Getting Close!”

  1. Cher March 27, 2012 at 8:29 am #

    Emilie, these posts are so awesome!! I just love reading them!

  2. Heather Rodriguez March 27, 2012 at 11:01 am #

    Emily ur website is so cool. How exciting for u all! Congratulations again.

  3. Doris Griffin March 27, 2012 at 8:42 pm #

    fun to be part of the adventure… thanks for sharing 🙂
    Can’t wait to meet her!!

Leave a Reply

