Baby G Update

14 Dec

I’ve been meaning to give a Baby G update since before Thanksgiving but the Holidays seem to have gotten in the way…

I am 15 weeks and 2 days now – officially into the second trimester! I still haven’t put on any weight; in fact, I’ve lost 12 pounds. Morning sickness was not my friend.

Sometimes, when I told people about the weight loss, they got really concerned. People suggested it wasn’t healthy, etc. None of these people were doctors. I pee in a cup every time I have an appointment and they are able to make sure my body isn’t breaking down nutrients.

Everything is fine. Apparently, I have plenty of fat and nutrients stored up.

While googling some pregnancy-related item, I came across this Dr. Phil gem. Generally, I think he is a self-righteous poop head but I think he nailed this when talking about pregnancy myths:

“Myth 3. Pregnant women must eat for two; they must gain 25 pounds.

False. North Americans already eat for two prior to pregnancy”

He went on to explain:

Thirty years ago, the average size of babies was 6 pounds. Today the average size is 8 pounds. There are many reasons for this, but one reason is over-eating, particularly unfavorable carbohydrates (breads, pastas, rice), and not getting enough vegetables, protein and healthy fats. As long as a pregnant woman eats properly ” and as long as her doctor is not concerned ” there is no set formula for how much she must gain. Generally, in the last trimester, the baby gains half a pound a week. So, as a general rule, if, during this time, the pregnant woman is not gaining a bit more than that, her doctor may be concerned and her diet should be re-evaluated.”

Anyways, the point is, we’re in the middle of a happy, healthy pregnancy.

Moving on.

Earlier in the pregnancy, we decided to do the AFP screening (tests for Downs Syndrome and other disorders). All women over 35 go through the screening but younger women have the option to as well. The entire screening consists of two blood tests and an ultrasound. I have one more blood test to go but so far, everything is looking healthy.

We had the ultrasound on November 24th. The baby was very active and seems to enjoy punching and kicking and flipping. Here are some of the shots we got:

Upside down

We have another appointment on December 30th and I’m crossing my fingers that we’ll schedule the c-section.

Following that appointment, we have another one on January 11th. They’ll be doing the anatomy scan to make sure that the baby is developing properly. They should also be able to tell us the sex! 🙂

2 Responses to “Baby G Update”

  1. Cheryl December 14, 2011 at 7:54 am #

    I love your blog, Em! Especially your description of Dr. Phil!!! Can’t wait for Jan. 11.

  2. Tamra December 17, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    I am happy for you Emilie, all those things you talked about are falling into place. I wish you nothing but happiness and health.

Leave a Reply

