So Fresh and So Clean, Clean

19 Apr

In an attempt to change our culinary lifestyle, we’ve made a couple of important changes to the way we eat. Below are the family “rules” to eating healthy and fresh food.

  • Eat your *preferably* organic vegetables. And eat lots of them. During the week, most of our meals are vegetarian. It’s an easy way to cut calories AND the grocery budget. Awesomeness.
  • In addition to eating lots of veggies, we try to keep ’em local. I understand that it’s probably a lot easier for people who live in California (especially the central valley) to do this. But, not only is the food you’re eating fresher than the imported kinds, you support your local economy. It’s just a nice thing to do.
  • When you’re going to eat beef, make sure it’s grass fed. A lot of farmer’s feed their cows corn. Ummm? Mean much? Cows can’t digest corn. It causes infection. The infections are treated with antibiotics and then, antibiotic-resistant bacteria develop.      Gross.      And dangerous.
    Because they’re not getting the right nutrients, the meat they produce is not as nutritious. It also contains more fat and calories.
  • Use reduced fat dairy products. Cheese is the only product that makes this difficult for my family. Creamier cheeses seem to better lend themselves to less fat. Also, the difference between reduced fat and regular cheese is not as apparent when the cheese is mixed in with something (as opposed to a topping).
  • As a rule of thumb, I use half the oil or fat than a recipe calls for. One tablespoon of olive oil has approximately 120 calories and 14 grams of fat. I’ll repeat that: On tablespoon of olive oil has approximately 120 calories and 14 grams of fat. In weight watchers terms, that’s four points. In one tablespoon. We’re not into super greasy crap anyways.

Before my wedding, I lost 30 pounds using Weight Watchers. Unfortunately, as soon as I stopped following the plan by the book, I put all of the weight back on plus a few pounds. Although I had measured proportions and counted calories, I didn’t change what I ate. I’m finding that Weight Watchers is so much easier now that we eat healthy food. If I forget to count once, it doesn’t end up in a gain. When I fall off track, it’s not as far. It doesn’t take as much effort to get back on.

I’m sure I’ve missed some things. What am I forgetting?

Leave a Reply

