Don’t Worry, Be Happy

16 Mar

I need to start this post with a disclaimer: I should take my own advice.

Apparently, being sad slows down your metabolism. I read this in a book called Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman (click here for more info). There were lots of other issues addressed in the chapter, but I can’t remember any. That fact stuck out. There is some evolutionary explanation… blippity blah, blippity blah…

It really got me thinking about all of the things I justify when I’m feeling down. These things include, but are not limited to:

Excessive intake of chocolate
Bumming around in sweats in front of the television
Excessive intake of carbs
Eating out
Excessive intake of wine
Lots of sitting and eating and eating and sitting

And on top of all of that, the emotion alone slows down my metabolism?? Crap.

I reviewed a list of 29 foods that Men’s Health claims make you happier. Most of the foods have a high concentration of vitamins. Chocolate made the list (Yes!) but so did plenty of healthy options like green beans, tofu, and oranges. So did parsley. Who knew?

Still, when tragedy seems to be lurking around every corner, I’m not convinced that a helping of veggies is going to make me feel any better. And, it’s not like I’m normally a “sad” person. I’m the epitome of optimism. I love to laugh. Fall down lately? Pick yourself up, dust off, and keep on keepin’ on.

So, are my indulgences justified every once in awhile?

Maybe if I didn’t have 80 78 pounds to lose. In the meantime, I should probably give up that tiramisu and get some walnuts. Not exactly a fair trade.

Are there any other healthy pick-me-ups I’m missing?

 

 

5 Responses to “Don’t Worry, Be Happy”

  1. Terra March 17, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Some of the Weight Watcher snack bars are actually really good and the Special K bars are good. Fruit with Splenda on top is really good too. The 100% fruit juice fruit snacks aren’t too high in calories and they give a little sweetness as well. Have you tried any of those dessert yogurts? They might be good, then you can have your cake and eat it too!

    • fat and sassy em March 17, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

      You know what I love as a sweetner? Agave! I’m kind of geeky about it. I made some applesauce with it the other night and didn’t have to add any sugar, just a bit of cinnamon. I try to avoid artificial sweetners which is why I don’t eat a lot of the weight watchers food.

  2. G March 17, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Rum !

    • fat and sassy em March 17, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

      But of course! I can’t believe I didn’t think of that. 🙂

  3. G March 17, 2011 at 7:29 pm #

    Hahaha! Miss you

Leave a Reply

