Chocolate Bars and Cute Cocktails

3 Mar

Wednesdays are my long days. I have to get to work a few minutes early to set up an 8:00 conference call. I’m in meetings all afternoon. When 5:00 finally rollls around, I have to run out the door so that I have time to hit up Starbucks before going to class. Class starts at 6:00. Depending on the subject and teacher, it ends somewhere between 9:00 and 10:00. On Wednesdays like yesterday, when my cohort finishes a module, we all go out for drinks after class.

To be honest, it doesn’t really matter which day of the week it is, I get hungry around 3:00. Plenty of my coworkers keep stashes of sweets at their desks and I have developed a snacking route. Over the course of said route, I consume no less than four pieces of candy. Any given person only sees me eat one piece. I’m stealth like that. And guilt free.

Now that I’m on this whole “weight loss” kick, four mid-afternoon pieces of chocolate (because really, why bother with anything else?) aren’t going to work. Crap.

Have no fear! I brough almonds to work. And, I actually ate them for a change. You know what? Almonds suck. However, it’s impossible to deny their nutritional value… blah… blah… blah… They have tons of protein and dietary fiber. Chocolate bars have tons of calories and sugar. They taste better though.

I managed to survive the afternoon on almonds. Yay me. When we went out for drinks, I sooooo wanted to order a cutsy, girly drink. Again, I restrained myself and ordered a glass of Cabernet. This was much less depressing than eating the almonds. I love wine. There are 123 calories in a glass of cab. There are like 500 in a Mai Tai. I’m not even exaggerating. Still, they’re so pretty. Sigh.

I’m seriously considering champagne next time – only 100 calories per glamorous glass. I’ve been reading up on the “Champagne Diet” and it sounds all kinds of awesome.

In summary:
Wednesday is my long day and I found that translates to my most difficult diet day. I was good (this week) and ate almonds instead of chocolate bars and drank red wine instead of cute cocktails.

I feel like I should be happier about this than I actually am.

2 Responses to “Chocolate Bars and Cute Cocktails”

  1. Terra March 7, 2011 at 4:47 pm #

    Get the Weight Watchers peanut butter chocolate bars. They are little and only 2 points, but they are really good! They actually have sugar in them, not fake stuff. So, you can eat a guilty pleasure without being bad! Think outside the box! Different candies have different calorie counts. Dark chocolate isn’t as calorie full as milk chocolate, and it actually has healthy properties for you. Its all about will power. You can do it, Em!

    • fat and sassy em March 10, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

      Hmmm… Weight Watchers makes real food? We are trying really hard to not eat anything that is overly processed – just natural food. It’s freakin expensive though.

Leave a Reply

